Gas Industry Safety Awards 2010

21 October 2010

Gas Industry Safety Group Awards 2010

The GISG is pleased to announce that more than 25 nominations were received for the Gas Industry Safety Group’s ‘Decade of Excellence’ awards. The nominations covered the following areas:

• Partnerships in Safety

• Safety Product

• Safety Training/ Skills Initiative

• Public Safety Initiative/ Campaign

• Individual Contribution to Safety

• Process Safety Improvement

• Safety Related Research

• Overall Safety Achievement

The awards will recognise those individuals and companies who are working, and have worked, over the last 10 years to improve and promote safety in the gas industry. The event to conclude the award process will take place in the Guildhall on the evening of 22nd November, with a Gala Awards Dinner, celebrating ten years of the Gas Industry Safety Group. Key sponsors of the event include British Gas, Scotia Gas Networks, Gas Forum, Gas Safety Trust, Morrison Utility Services, National Grid, Energy Networks Association and Curzon.

The prestigious judging panel includes Barry Sheerman, MP (Chair of the Skills Commission and the All Party Parliamentary Gas Safety Group), Judith Hackett (Chair of the Health and Safety Executive), Peter Brown (HSE - Head of Work Environment, Radiation and Gas), John Wybrew, (Member of the Gas and Electricity Market Authority) and the GISG Board Members.

The judging panel is considering excellent nominations received from:

• Newham Homes

• National Grid Grain

• Carbon Monoxide Alarms Ltd

• Honeywell

• Newham Homes and FireAngel

• FireAngel

• ReManufacturing Services Ltd

• Kirklees Carbon Monoxide Awareness Group

• Atomic Weapons Establishment

• National Grid

• M1 Corridor Gas Alliance

• Barnet Homes and FireAngel

• Morrison Utility Services

• Northern Gas Networks

• Safelincs and Kirklees Council

• Scotia Gas Networks

• CO-Gas Safety

• North London Gas Alliance

• British Gas

• Saltire Facilities Management

• GL Noble Denton

• Inexus

• Energy Networks Association

• Energy UK

• Gas Safety Trust

• Dominic Rodgers Trust

• Curzon

The award winners will be announced and presentations made at the Decade of Excellence Awards gala dinner on Monday November 22nd at London’s Guildhall.