Membership Overview

ENA represents and promotes the interests of its member companies.

Membership is open to all owners and operators of energy networks in the UK. Initially, this means holders of licences for activities such as transmission and/or distribution of electricity and/or gas. There are different types of membership to account for the diversity of our sector. Group membership is where multiple licence holders are owned by one company and Member Companies are those who are individual licence holders.

ENA Group Members are National Grid, SSE and SGN, UK Power Networks and Northern Gas Networks and Wales & West Utilities, Northern Ireland Electricity Networks and ESB Networks.

ENA member companies are Cadent, Electricity North West, GTC, Northern Powergrid, ScottishPower and Western Power Distribution.

Companies who operate smaller networks or are licence holders outside of mainland Britain or Ireland can be Associates of ENA too. This gives them access to the expertise and knowledge available through ENA. Companies and organisations with an interest in the UK transmission and distribution market are now able to directly benefit from the work of ENA through associate status. From policy analysis and commentary through a range of technical and engineering services, associate status enables access to our services on a 'menu' basis, tailored to your needs.

Current ENA affiliates and associates are Chubu, EEA (Electricity Engineers’ Association), Guernsey Electricity, Heathrow, Jersey Electricity Company, Manx Electricity Authority, and Network Rail.

For further information, and the opportunity to informally discuss these options and to discover how ENA can help your business, please contact David Smith: Chief Executive, [email protected].